|HOME| |DIY FAQ| |GEO FAQ| |Debugging Page| |Links| |Schematics| |Wiki| |Layouts Gallery| |STORE|
|AMPAGE| |GEOFEX| |AMZ|

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 23, 2014, 06:17:31 AM
946373 Posts in 101621 Topics by 31723 Members
Latest Member: punxtian
Home Help Login Register
DIYstompboxes.com  |  DIY Stompboxes  |  Building your own stompbox  |  MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 Go Down Print
Author Topic: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions  (Read 71301 times)
Fender3D
Posts: 675


Federico S.


Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #340 on: February 23, 2012, 09:57:53 AM »

OK. If I keep R28 at 1M5, and I were to install a trimmer pot for R27.... what value would you suggest? If 100 ohms is too low  Grin

1K might be a nice start...

The series pot (Threshold pot) is only 10KB. Should I try a 100K multi-turn trimmer in place of R27?

Better a 50k-100k pot instead of 10k...  icon_wink

EDIT:

lol
Charlie beats me by 12 seconds... my BBD is longer than his... icon_mrgreen
« Last Edit: February 23, 2012, 10:00:00 AM by Fender3D » Logged

"NOT FLAMMABLE" is not a challenge
Govmnt_Lacky
Posts: 4185


I'M ONLY GETTING CLEAN OUTPUT!!!!


Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #341 on: February 23, 2012, 10:07:10 AM »

What value are you using for the main threshold control? Increasing that from 10K up to 100K should help, if you haven't done that already.

I am using the called-for 10KB pot. I have read about using a 100KB in place of it but, I really wanted to stay "true to form" to the original if at all possible. It's not looking that way though  Undecided According to the factory alignment specs, there really is no "adjustment" for the Threshold level. It is basically a procedural op check with no reference as to what is next if the op check is BAD  Roll Eyes

Quote
Sweet looking build, BTW!

Thanks Charlie! Great board to work with makes it all possible  Wink

1K might be a nice start...

Might be worth a try. Swapping out the Threshold pot now will be a bit of work as it will require digging out the PCB to get to it. This is all crammed into a 1590DD  icon_eek
Logged

A Veteran is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The United States of America
for an amount of ‘up to and including my life.’
moosapotamus
Posts: 1588


New Hampshire USA


WWW
Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #342 on: February 23, 2012, 11:25:42 AM »

lol
Charlie beats me by 12 seconds... my BBD is longer than his... icon_mrgreen

12 seconds!!! What took you so long? You're not even in BBD territory any more! Cheesy

I have read about using a 100KB in place of it but, I really wanted to stay "true to form" to the original if at all possible. It's not looking that way though  Undecided According to the factory alignment specs, there really is no "adjustment" for the Threshold level. It is basically a procedural op check with no reference as to what is next if the op check is BAD  Roll Eyes

Yeah, "true to form" is a bit of a stretch with this circuit, anyway. I'm up to rev.5, and that's on top of all the previous "factory" revisions.

If it weren't for the hassle of disassembling your shiny new pedal, I'd still say that swapping in a 100K threshold pot would be your best bet.

There has been a bit of renewed interest in this circuit, lately, and there are a few things that could be updated in the documentation, too. Since I happen to be in the process of rebuilding/updating my website, I'm going to clean this stuff up, too. Might even have to order another batch of PCBs. Cool

~ Charlie
Logged

moosapotamus.net
"I tend to like anything that I think sounds good."
Govmnt_Lacky
Posts: 4185


I'M ONLY GETTING CLEAN OUTPUT!!!!


Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #343 on: February 23, 2012, 12:24:34 PM »

Yeah, "true to form" is a bit of a stretch with this circuit, anyway. I'm up to rev.5, and that's on top of all the previous "factory" revisions.

Indeed! It sure would be interesting to know what the exact pot value was in the original AND re-issue versions of the A/DA Flanger  icon_cool

Quote
If it weren't for the hassle of disassembling your shiny new pedal, I'd still say that swapping in a 100K threshold pot would be your best bet.

Might do just that!  icon_eek

Quote
There has been a bit of renewed interest in this circuit, lately, and there are a few things that could be updated in the documentation, too. Since I happen to be in the process of rebuilding/updating my website, I'm going to clean this stuff up, too. Might even have to order another batch of PCBs. Cool

Let me know if you decide to do any small runs of the SAD1024 version  Wink
Logged

A Veteran is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The United States of America
for an amount of ‘up to and including my life.’
Fender3D
Posts: 675


Federico S.


Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #344 on: February 23, 2012, 01:18:00 PM »

12 seconds!!! What took you so long? You're not even in BBD territory any more! Cheesy

lol
I got the longest SAD on Earth (1024*1024)




 icon_mrgreen
Logged

"NOT FLAMMABLE" is not a challenge
moosapotamus
Posts: 1588


New Hampshire USA


WWW
Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #345 on: February 24, 2012, 11:22:50 AM »

What a curiosity! Tongue Cool
Logged

moosapotamus.net
"I tend to like anything that I think sounds good."
Valoosj
Posts: 882


Yorick


Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #346 on: February 25, 2012, 05:12:32 PM »


There has been a bit of renewed interest in this circuit, lately, and there are a few things that could be updated in the documentation, too. Since I happen to be in the process of rebuilding/updating my website, I'm going to clean this stuff up, too. Might even have to order another batch of PCBs. Cool

~ Charlie

I really should get back to this too. Only have to wire it up and then keep my fingers crossed that it works Cheesy
Logged

Quote from: frequencycentral
You squeezed it into a 1590A - you insane fool!  icon_mrgreen
Quote from: Scruffie
Well this... this is just silly... this can't fit in a 1590B... can it? And you're not even using SMD you mad man!
Govmnt_Lacky
Posts: 4185


I'M ONLY GETTING CLEAN OUTPUT!!!!


Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #347 on: March 28, 2012, 07:44:24 AM »

Performed a successful surgical operation last night!  Grin

Removed the 10K Threshold pot and replaced with a 100K.

Happy to report that the patient is fully recovered and that the patient reports an increased range of motion  Cool

Definitely worth the risk!!  icon_lol
Logged

A Veteran is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The United States of America
for an amount of ‘up to and including my life.’
moosapotamus
Posts: 1588


New Hampshire USA


WWW
Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #348 on: March 28, 2012, 09:05:36 AM »

Cheers, Lacky! Cool

~ Charlie
Logged

moosapotamus.net
"I tend to like anything that I think sounds good."
njkmonty
Posts: 128



Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #349 on: October 06, 2012, 03:42:46 AM »


im about to build my second moosapotomus flanger but stuck on resistor 7
if you look at the above pic there are 4 holes in particular,
1 to the left of the "R" outside the  R7 Rectangle
the 2 holes within the R7 Rectangle  which are joined, and..
the hole on the right of the R7 Rectangle coming from the positive side of c5 can cap

where do i put resistor?   the 2 holes outside the R7 Rectangle?
« Last Edit: October 06, 2012, 03:50:21 AM by njkmonty » Logged
12Bass
Posts: 243



WWW
Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #350 on: October 06, 2012, 04:50:00 AM »

where do i put resistor?   the 2 holes outside the R7 Rectangle?
On the schematic, R7 goes between pins 4 and 12 of IC2.  So, that means that the left lead of R7 is inserted to the left of where you see R7 indicated on the parts layout picture, and the right lead of R7 is inserted to the left of where C5 is indicated.  Happy flanging!
Logged

It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring. - Carl Sagan
njkmonty
Posts: 128



Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #351 on: October 06, 2012, 05:17:48 PM »

Thanks !
Logged
LaceSensor
Posts: 330


Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #352 on: November 10, 2012, 01:17:53 PM »

Hey all

Whats the best place to start troubleshooting if I have nothing at the output?

Ive got 7.5v at Vb (1/2 supply) and 15v ish on the main voltage rails to the ICs etc
I have LFO working, I have sound on various pins of the quad opamps... stumped.

Thanks
Logged
Govmnt_Lacky
Posts: 4185


I'M ONLY GETTING CLEAN OUTPUT!!!!


Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #353 on: November 10, 2012, 01:50:25 PM »

Hey all

Whats the best place to start troubleshooting if I have nothing at the output?

Ive got 7.5v at Vb (1/2 supply) and 15v ish on the main voltage rails to the ICs etc
I have LFO working, I have sound on various pins of the quad opamps... stumped.

Thanks

Hey Lace,

You might want to post a new debug thread with the applicable voltages from the "What to do when it doesn't work" thread.

Have you verified all your offboard stuff?
Logged

A Veteran is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The United States of America
for an amount of ‘up to and including my life.’
oldschoolanalog
Posts: leet


leet forever!


WWW
Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #354 on: November 10, 2012, 02:13:11 PM »

Get schematic, signal source, and audio probe/O'scope. Start probing at the output and work your way "backwards".
I know; sounds like the "simpleton" method. It does work however.
I do it like that but then again "simpleton" applies in my case...  Grin
Logged

Mystery lounge. No tables, chairs or waiters here. In fact, we're all quite alone.
LaceSensor
Posts: 330


Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #355 on: November 10, 2012, 03:46:44 PM »

OK I can do that
Im just in a fudge right now. a lot of things arent working for me (inc personal stuff :/ )
Logged
LaceSensor
Posts: 330


Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #356 on: November 11, 2012, 08:49:02 AM »

Fixed. Output volume control was on the bit of perf that also connects to ground....IDIOT

haha
 
well at least it was an easy fix once I opened my eyes and mind
Logged
Skruffyhound
Posts: 1233


Aston


Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #357 on: December 17, 2012, 10:26:45 AM »

Ok, I'm back looking at tuning this in better, thanks to Charlie's excellent videos.
However, I'm not having much luck getting the frequencies tuned. I can obviously get one or the other but  no matter what I do one remains out of range.
I think the closest I came last night was 2.9 Mhz and 69Khz.
I checked the power supply and found I was a little low too - 14.55V on the output of the regulator. I will investigate the power issue tonight, but is there any chance these two things are related?
Any ideas?
Logged
armdnrdy
Posts: 1852

Larry L.


Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #358 on: December 17, 2012, 10:35:32 AM »

Hi Aston,

Are you refering to the adjustment of TR4 and TR5? If so I believe that I have a fix for you.
Logged
moosapotamus
Posts: 1588


New Hampshire USA


WWW
Re: MN3007 ADA Flanger Clone Questions
« Reply #359 on: December 17, 2012, 11:29:41 AM »

Interested to hear what you have in mind, Larry.

Aston - Instead of trying to nail specific numbers, how does it sound to you? 2.9Mhz is kind of high for my taste. Personally, I don't hear much effect above ~2.5Mhz. But there is a lot still going on below 69.6Khz. So I usually tune the whole range down a bit anyway. Are you able to try something similar? IMO, the sound is more important than the numbers. Cool

~ Charlie
Logged

moosapotamus.net
"I tend to like anything that I think sounds good."
Pages: 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to: