Broken Behringer KX1200 Keyboard Amp Ideas?

Started by doc_drop, March 10, 2009, 11:56:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

doc_drop

Hey guys. I'm hoping someone can help me decide what to do about this stupid amp I bought. I wanted to use it as my 2-person-band's PA. It worked great for about a year. But after 4 or 5 gigs, it crapped out on us mid-set. I have done many searches trying to find service info. and/or schematics of the amp circuit, but it turns out Behringer keeps it secret.

I also read a number of reports of the same model doing the same thing for other people. One guy mentioned the "power chip" getting fried repeatedly.

Do you guys think it is worth my time trying to find out what the "power chip" is and replacing it? I am pretty good with 9v guitar pedal circuits, but I am not experienced with high voltage, and I am a little intimidated...

My other thought is to use it as a simple speaker cab. I am perfing up a Noisy Cricket, and I think I will try that out. But, the speakers in the KY1200 are 4 ohm and 8 ohm. I guess my best bet is to just try attaching the speakers individually and together, and see what noise comes out. But, can anyone advise me on hooking up different ohm speakers? I know the Cricket is too weak to hurt them. I just want the best sound I can get...

Thanks, and take my advice, don't buy Behringer amps!

Arn C.

You can also try over here>   http://www.ampage.org/

There are some discussion forums for amps there.

Peace!
Arn C.

doc_drop

Thanks Arn. I'll post the same question over there.

But you guys must have some crazy DIY ideas about how to "think outside of this box" and Frankenstein it, no?...

jefe

I don't blame you for not wanting to mess with high voltage, I feel the same way. But give it a shot at ampage, you never know, it could end up being an easy fix.