the simple limiter (new effect)

Started by darwin_deathcat, March 13, 2009, 09:20:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

darwin_deathcat

Hi all, here's the current schematic of a simple peak limiter I've been designing. I originally posted the first (Bad!) schematic in another thread, and got some great advice on how to move forward with this design. Although this schematic is much much better than the first one I made, I'm sure there may be some issues I have not caught. Can anyone see anything especially glaringly obvioulsy wrong? This is my first time designing a limiter, so any advice would be great. I have not yet breadboarded the thing because I want to get some of your feedback first (to hopefully save me from too much trouble on the breadboard!). Thanks in advance!

__ ------------------- __
__ | | | | | | | | | | | __
    --------------------

Taylor

This is just what I've been looking for - I want a limiter to keep the output of a feedback looper tamed. Hopefully you'll get some feedback from people who can read circuits better than I, but I'll probably put this thing together on perf soon, so we can see how it works in the wild.

Thanks for this!

brett

Hi
someone should probably SPICE model this.
I'm guessing that you'll want to reduce the 520k feedback resistor.  At present, the maximum amount of change in freedback resistance is from 470k down to about 250k (LDR=0k, so 520k parallels the 470k).  If the 520k resistor were 47k, you would get a 10 x change in feedback and gain, which is about right.

I'm also guessing here, but won't you want some resistance between C1 and C3 (look at the BMP gain stages for examples).  Then the circuit becomes simple to understand in terms of gain (like an inverting op amp, where the gain is the input resistance divided by the feedback resistance).

Any experts know a bit more?
Brett Robinson
Let a hundred flowers bloom, let a hundred schools of thought contend. (Mao Zedong)

Cliff Schecht