How to bias a fuzz pedal after changing transistors?

Started by niblos, March 20, 2009, 05:15:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

niblos

I am kind of new to this sort of thing but here is my question: I recently ordered some Texas instrument cv7003 (military version of the oc44) and wanted to change just the fuzz side transistors on my 9-3700 Vox stereo fuzz wah. I wanted to try a germanium transistor for a warm, smoother fuzz tone. My question is how do I bias these two cv7003s? My friend says he can check them for leakage and that sort of thing. I have read a few things about bias control on DIY fuzz pedals but what about something minor such as exchanging transistors? Is there anything else that I need to consider? You help is greatly appreciated!

petemoore

Is there anything else that I need to consider?
A schematic.
Bias, you'll be able to tell much more about these transistors and the circuit with a schematic and some bias information, all the kinds of stuff that you know after the fact.
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

niblos

I do have the schematic for the vox stereo fuzz wah (9-3700) as well as the vox distortion booster (V8162) that was actually the very same circuit found in the fuzz/wah. However I don't have anyway to post them. I will be happy to send them to anyone who emails me at the following:
jcook27@nc.rr.com

petemoore

That's a Fuzz Face type circuit.
  2Q feedback loop, high gain stage, NPN/Negative ground.
  Perfbread it.
  Stick sockets for Q's, put a 4k7 + 10k trimpot for Q2 collector resistor, 4k7 through 14k7 is a good range to stick to to adjust the circuit bias.
  Adjust the pot and 4k7 to = the measured value of the 10k in your old circuit.
  Try transistor combinations using the schematic [or better yet the values measured on the original].
  Then adjust bias to determine if 10k is the optimal value for Q2.