Help me get my flipster going (w pics)

Started by mjwhit, March 22, 2009, 08:08:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mjwhit

This is my first build. I have done a bit of stuff before, guitar electronics etc but nothing like this.

Working on a flipster.... but when i plug it in i just get a bit of noise(reasonably quiet), no guitar input, but for some reason when i touch the strings on my bass the noise will change.
EDIT=after some tinkering, I have very low output.
Is it possible i put a wrong value capacitor somewere and its blocking these frequencies?

Ive double checked my layout and soldering, but now i dont know what to check now.

Could you guys give me some hints please?

Once i get it going i will add a bypass and an led, but one thing at a time.

Thanks in advance

and itl be going in here once its going

tehfunk

I just built one of these for a friend, it's subtle with the settings he uses on it, but he really likes it. anyway, umm, the main thing I can suggest is making an audio probe and going through the circuit, you will have a much easier time finding your mistake that way.
Carvin CT6M > diystompboxes.com > JCM800 4010

The tools of the artist give you a chance to twist and bend the laws of nature and to cut-up and reshape the fabric of reality - John Frusciante

cpm

mjwhit

Quotedid you put the FETs the right way?
Yep  :) First thing i checked...

After going over everthing i now have an interesting problem. I have normal output but the gain, treble and bass pots dont seem to change anything. Im thinking its a short somewere?

cpm

Quote from: mjwhit on March 25, 2009, 05:44:54 PM
After going over everthing i now have an interesting problem. I have normal output but the gain, treble and bass pots dont seem to change anything. Im thinking its a short somewere?

Gain should be noticeable as it a standard volume btween stages. Going down to 0 its grounded thus silencing the next stages.Check your grounds then.