General guitar gadgets mini mixer help needed

Started by doug0147, March 23, 2009, 12:56:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

doug0147

I am a relatively new pedal builder. So far I've made a Electro Harmonix Booster, ProCo Rat, and a mini mixer from the General Guitar Gadgets site.

The first two were successfully, but I need some help with the mixer. Here is a link to the mixer project.

http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=68&Itemid=26

I only wanted two inputs so I left two of the inputs out. I ended up using a TL082 instead of the TL072 IC in the bill of materials.

The thing works, the problem I have with it is that it takes out the some treble and sounds a little muddy and reduces volume. Is this just how it is supposed to sound? The plans say you can reduce the value of R10 to incease gain. I did this and swapped it for a 22K. It sounds louder and has more gain, but the tone is still off. Is the TL082 maybe causing this? Any help will be appreciated.

Ben N

What are you feeding in? That mixer is unbuffered and has a low input Z, so if the feeds are from high impedance sources, you may need (a) buffer(s) ahead of the mixer. For example, you could not reasonably expect to feed an unbuffered guitar signal through without losses.
  • SUPPORTER

doug0147

I was actually using a raw guitar signal. Do I need to build in buffers for each input?

My goal with this thing is to be able to split a guitar signal 2 ways, have one line going from the guitar signal to mixer input 1, and have the other side of the split signal go into an effects chain and out of that chain into the 2nd input of the mixer. The whole point is for my bass player to be able to use the ProCo rat I made and have his original signal at the same time.

But as of now I can't get a good signal with only a guitar in one input.

petemoore