Stompbox advise

Started by scottjge, April 16, 2009, 09:19:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

scottjge

Hi, my name is Glenn and I am new to the forum and was wondering if someone could give me some sound advise. I have been playing guitar for almost 40 years and have never been able to afford Marshall amp ( the amp of my dreams), and since I had a stroke about 6 months ago it looks like I will never own one now. I would like to build a stompbox that sounds as close as I can get to one, if that is even possible. I realize that a stompbox will never replace nor sound like an actual JCM800 but I would like to get something that is close.

SO my question to you stompbox gods is ;  Has anyone had any experience in trying to emulate a JCM 800 ? I have found some schematics on the web that are suppose to emulate a JCM 800 but they have no sound clips to see if they really do sound anything near a JCM. I have built, and bought some stompboxes that claim that they emulate the 800 but they are not even close. Any ideas, advise, sound clips or schematics of any stompbox that is close would be greatly appreciated. Anyone with any help or suggestion  my email me at my personal email or leave a message hear.

Thank you so much for your time,
scottjge
Glenn S

jefe

Hi, and welcome Scott! I don't have any experience with Marshall emulators - yet - but I hope to build & experiment a bit at some point.

Just curious, which pedals have you already built and bought? And which schematics on the web are you referring to?

Also, what kind of guitar are you using, and perhaps more importantly, what kind of amp are you going in to?

DougH

What kind of guitar and amp are you using? That will help narrow it down.

Edit: Oops... Jeff already asked that... :icon_redface:
"I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you."

scottjge