TB MK2: what R2 does

Started by Mugshot, April 21, 2009, 09:27:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mugshot

last night i desoldered all the components of my Tonebender MK2 PNP negative ground build after i drilled a modified PCB (using MS Paint) of the one from GGG; i made it smaller so it can fit on a regular 1290NS enclosure (horizontal placement) since the original was kinda longer.

i was transferring all the components one by one when i found out that the resistor value for R2 (10K) i installed was actually 100K! when i was building the TBender, i have no solid background knowledge on determining resistor values through color bands (currently, i have to consult an online site to get the value of each).

yeah as reported, my build works. i just want to know what R2 does and what will happen if this is increased 10-fold. thanks!

and oh, yes the schematic, http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/diagrams/tonebender_m2p_sc_pn.gif
i am what i am, so are you.

mac

If Q1 is low leakage, a 100k decreases collector voltage Vc. The working voltage is around 7.5v to 8.7v depending on leakage. As you lower Vc there is more gain, but some tonal characteristics begin to change.
Check Vc using a 10k annd see if you are near the above values.

mac
mac@mac-pc:~$ sudo apt-get install ECC83 EL84

leeyoungun

Quote from: mac on April 21, 2009, 10:07:43 PM
If Q1 is low leakage, a 100k decreases collector voltage Vc. The working voltage is around 7.5v to 8.7v depending on leakage. As you lower Vc there is more gain, but some tonal characteristics begin to change.
Check Vc using a 10k annd see if you are near the above values.

mac