Squandering Old Parts

Started by doitle, June 28, 2009, 03:44:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

doitle

I dont know if anyone else has had an experience similar to this but...

I work as an assistant in the lab here where I go to school. I'm an undergrad Electrical Engineer. My summer job has been doing menial things like sorting bins of resistors, capacitors, transistors, the like. Tidying up the labs and testing equipment. After researching these vintage electronics more and more I see what an absolute goldmine the lab is and how so many old parts that could bring lots of people happiness in vintage electronics builds are being squandered. We've got transistor bins going way back, thousands of super old transistors that I'm probably the first person to look at in 15 years. The capacitor bins are full of large old electrolytics, Sprague Atoms and the like. Being used as decoupling caps on simple micro controller projects and the like... :/ There is so much history it's like being in a museum in our storage closet and it will likely stay that way forever. Me being the only one to come in there and wonder at all the neat old electronics components. Think about their possible uses. I know I've seen some of the rare BBD chips and other assorted ICs in there as well. I dunno why I made this post exactly... I guess to vent a little frustration I've been feeling lately. It'd be like finding a store with tons of NOS or near NOS parts that wasn't going to sell them... or use them... They'd just sit there forever. Or be misused... Since our resistors and capacitors are not sorted by voltage or power handling only nominal value you'll see rediculous things like 5V through a resistor into an LED to ground. The resistor? A 5W Dale sandblock... Things like that.

frequencycentral

I feel your frustration. Probably the best thing you could do is pack all those old useless parts into boxes and ship them directly to me.
http://www.frequencycentral.co.uk/