Which voltage Regulator?

Started by newfish, July 29, 2009, 05:34:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

newfish

Hi All,

Am currently building a Bobtavia for a friend of a friend.

Up until now, I've only ever built 'Battery' pedals - not using wall-warts for anything other than Digital(Delay / Pitch Shift) boxes myself.

I've had a request to include a 9v power jack on this particular box - and am keen to do so as I've never done it before.

Looking through datasheets etc, I'm drawn to either the LM317, or 78xx series of regulators - to give 9v DC.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to which one to go for...

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=7939#specifi

http://www.national.com/mpf/LM/LM317.html

...I'm looking for as small a board as possible - with the intention of making 'extra' boards in their own boxes to go between Wall warts and commercial Pedals as an extra assurance of good voltage, sort of like this...

Wall Wart ---> Regulator Box ---> Pedal   

I realise that using a regulated PSU would negate the need for this, but am thinking it would be a useful 'Gizmo' to have in my case - bacuase you never know what the other guys in the band are using...
Happiness is a warm etchant bath.

km-r

78xx is the way to go! it does not even need lots of external components.
ive done mods to distortion boxes by soldering the regulator right on the DC jack...
Look at it this way- everyone rags on air guitar here because everyone can play guitar.  If we were on a lawn mower forum, air guitar would be okay and they would ridicule air mowing.

doitle