Question about BA3812 EQ IC !!

Started by Minion, August 26, 2009, 06:48:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Minion

Hey Folks , I have a couple BA3812 EQ IC"s and wanted to try them out to make a simple 5 Band EQ... in the Datasheet Circuit it has 100k pots to controll the Boost/Cut ..
My question is what effect does the Value of these Pots have on the curcuit ??

I know that they don"t effect the frequency as when doing the Calculations for the Filter Frequencies the 100k pot is not taken into account ....

is it like a Gain pot ?? or like a Volume pot ?? what effect would a different Pot Value have on the circuit ??

Sorry for the stupid question .....

thanx
Go to bed with itchy Bum , wake up with stinky finger !!

MetalGuy

I have some experience with those chips and I can tell you that regular /linear/ 100k slide/pots don't work well in this circuit although they are suggested in the datasheet.
100k pots will give you some "action" only close to the "up" or "down" positions of the slide pot. My advice is to try 50k or 20k and listen to the result.

Minion

Ok , so the pot is more like a Volume controll for the specific frequency band and not a Gain pot for the frequency band ?? so the Value of the pot has no effect on the amount of cut and boost but has an effect on the sencitivity of the Boost
/cut ??

Thanx

jacobyjd

oooOOooo...this looks interesting. Dangit--I'm already working on two other major projects...
Warsaw, Indiana's poetic love rock band: http://www.bellwethermusic.net

mth5044

I know, I really hope something comes out of this chip. I don't have the time to buy and and play around, but I wouldn't mind putting a 20ish part EQ pedal on the list  :icon_mrgreen:

Minion