Tonepad small stone - partial success

Started by tonewill, September 10, 2009, 10:34:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tonewill

Hello,
I built the tonepad small stone phaser project using their own PCB. I've made no modifications and ordered the parts from small bear electronics as they suggest even thought I'm in the UK. It was easier as they emailed a list of parts required for this project and had them all in stock. Some resistors I already had. I (thought) I was very careful assembling it and checked all resistor values by colour codes and by meter.

Today I was ready to test it and as I don't yet have a box or main switch I wired the input jack straight to the input on the board and the output from the board to the output jack, so no bypass. I'm using a new battery as well until I get a decent adaptor.

To my surprise It worked, until I switched the colour switch whereupon I got an awful high pitched squeal.

As I'm a beginner at electronics can anyone point me in the right direction as to what I should be checking / testing for this problem? I know others have had this squeal problem but as far as I can tell that was due to them modifying the board to fix the 'volume drop' problem. I'm just using the standards values.

Thanks for any help,
Barry.

tonewill

Direct link to circuit diagram

There are a lot of threads on this forum about this project but the ones I looked at which had a similar problem all revolved around mods that had been made to stop the "volume drop when engaged" problem (which I haven't done).

Anyway, last night I went through every resistor with a magnifying glass and a resistor code chart hoping to find a wrong value but they were all correct. I then decided to separate the 'feedback' and the 'sweep width' from the DPDT switch. I wired the feedback so that it was off and the switch now just controlled the sweep width. The sweep width works fine so the problem is with the feedback part of the circuit.