transformer question

Started by c-rok holmes, September 11, 2009, 05:27:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

c-rok holmes

I live in toronto and am having a real hard time finding a 12.6v 300ma filament transformer.  I'm building a  leslie simulator and am hoping that I can use an alternate transformer if it allows.  Can anyone give me any pointers? I was told that this kind of transformer shouldn't be hard to find- if you haven't guessed already, i am new to pedal building.  Here's the link to the schematic and parts list.
Thanks in advance,

http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/diagrams/les_sim2.jpg

.Mike

What an interesting bypass method. I would probably bypass that bypass method and use a true bypass, eliminating the LDR/LED-or-bulb.

Anyway, I'm no expert, but it looks like this circuit runs on DC. The AC voltage coming from the transformer is immediately rectified into DC before being fed to the rest of the circuit. I see no reason why you can't use a standard wall-wart DC adapter to power the circuit. The question is, how many volts and how much current must the wall-wart put out? That is where I'm not sure.

There is a formula that I've seen (many times) on the forum here that deals with voltage and rectifying AC. A 12.6V AC transformer, when rectified, will give you 12.6V multiplied by a factor (that I forget), minus the diode drops caused by the rectifying. I'm sure someone can chime in with the formula, or you can search the forum here to find it. Once you know that value, you can figure out how much actual DC voltage/current you need your wall-wart to put out.

Hopefully that will get you started down the right path, and hopefully someone else can chime in to confirm if I am right or wrong. :)

Mike

If you're not doing it for yourself, it's not DIY. ;)

My effects site: Just one more build... | My website: America's Debate.

maarten