Small Bear PCB for 3PDT. Pics included.

Started by ke4unr, September 19, 2009, 02:21:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ke4unr

While placing a recent order I noticed that Steve/Small Bear Electronics has PCBs for 3PDT switches. I dont' know how long he's been carrying them, but this is my first time seeing them. I decided to order one to evaluate: http://www.smallbearelec.com/Detail.bok?no=870

It is a quality board, well masked with solder through holes. The fit is perfect on my Cliff switches. I don't have a current project, but I'm really anxious to try this out to see such things as:
1) how much time will it save
2) will it provide a neater presentation (more professional looking?)
3) durability/reliability (though I can't imagine much going wrong)

Anyway, I wondered if anyone else has used these and what your experience has been I'll need to determine if it will be worth adding to my future builds and mods.

Here's some pics:

Thanks,
Ray K.

SirBlend12

I was debating testing these out the next time I order stuff. From the look of them in your pics, I will definitely need to try them. Seems as thought they could definitely clean up the inside of an enclosure, especially if you used that bonded flat wire stuff.

nbabmf

I KNEW I forgot something on my last order...

aziltz

the only problem i see is, its hardwired for true bypass and an LED.  If you wanted to use it for other things, you wouldn't have full access to all the pins.

Chrome Dinette

I like the looks of it, should make things neater, as long as you are using the switch for that application.

Processaurus

Quote from: aziltz on September 20, 2009, 01:04:02 AM
the only problem i see is, its hardwired for true bypass and an LED.  If you wanted to use it for other things, you wouldn't have full access to all the pins.

Beware creeping featurism, a more versatile/ swiss army board would likely be larger, more confusing, and less helpful to most pedal makers hoping to save a little time.