Way Huge Aquapuss delay clone issue

Started by Ed22, October 03, 2009, 03:56:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ed22

Hi,

I've built the way huge aquapuss clone project (see freestompboxes forum). This is the mini MN3005 version (to fitin 1590B enclosure). It works but has an issue: i play a lespaul and the delay repeats tend to distort, specially with the bridge humbucker. I'ver tried to set the bias pot but i can't manage to reach "the sweet spot". Maybe i could decrease the gain of the delay...but i have no special knowledges in electronics. Maybe there is one or two values to change in the input stage. i don't know if the issue occurs because of the input or because of the BBD stage...
Here is the link : the schematic is available at the end of this page :

http://freestompboxes.org/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4216&start=140

the link: http://www.digitaldestruct.com/images/AquaPuss/AquaPussSchematic.jpg

I've spent lots of time on this project, i can't give up so close to the end!
Thanks for any kind of help,

cheers,

Ed.

petemoore

I have trouble turning down the volume on my Epi LP, it just doesn't turn down until it's at <2 mud.
  If attenuating the input reduces or eliminates this distortion [cool, there it is]...but then you have a problem, low output, which of course it not too difficult to overcome.
  I imagine those chips may not be happy with voltage higher than what they're working at now, is why the suggestion to reduce the signal voltage from the 'outside' so to feel more headroom as far as they're concerned.
  It's hard to tell what voltage the circuit is supplied.
  Attenuate before the circuit, gain recovery after is the general gist.
  I've had luck with compressors ['n Les Paul humbuckers] keeping signal hot, but without the big peaks so signal would become overcook by the next unit, but the other idea allows you to actually have a wet and hot output.
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

Ed22

Hi,