Schematic To PCB

Started by MmmPedals, November 28, 2009, 11:13:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MmmPedals

I have a schematic of a very rare pedal (on loan on condition not to post). I want to lay it out for a pcb. I dont trust myself to lay it out alone because i am new at reading schematics and dread that "one stupid mistake". I tried Eagle and lets just say its a good thing i dont own a gun. The libraries make impossible to find anything. Any suggestions?

Ripthorn

If this is the same pedal you asked about the transistor, then I will go edit my post there.  In the mean time, the only way to get good at layouts is to do them over and over.  I would get the gaussmarkov library as it is geared towards pedal builders and that will greatly simplify finding things in there.  Other than that, good old time and work is what you need.
Exact science is not an exact science - Nikola Tesla in The Prestige
https://scientificguitarist.wixsite.com/home

newperson

what is the pedal?  odds are that there is one already made.

R.G.

Quote from: MmmPedals on November 28, 2009, 11:13:41 PM
... I want to lay it out for a pcb. I dont trust myself to lay it out alone because i am new at reading schematics and dread that "one stupid mistake". I tried Eagle and lets just say its a good thing i dont own a gun. The libraries make impossible to find anything. Any suggestions?
Can't help much with libraries. They are what they are, better or worse.

But for converting schematics to PCBs, there is a book you might like to get. It's called "PCB Layout for Musical Effects", and it's sold through Small Bear Electronics. It is a detailed tutorial on taking a schematic and doing the manipulations to the thing to get it on a PCB. I think it's a good intro - but I would, as I wrote it.  :icon_lol: