DS-1 (Japanese) Mod Gone Wrong... :(

Started by themdla, November 29, 2009, 03:31:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

themdla

so i decided to mod a friends' Japanese DS-1 (TA7136AP) based on a schematic i used to successfully modify a newer M5223 based model.

unfortuantely the mod has failed...
the distortion pot only creates distortion when it's turned 85% clockwise.
all the distortion happens from 8-10, and nothing happens but volume increase from 1-8.

i have included a schematic showing all the parts i have replaced (in red & blue).
i also had to modify the original schematic to include the japanese op-amp and attached circuitry.

i'm assuming this has something to do with the values of one of the 3 componets i replaced that have red dots next to them.

any help would be greatly appreciated i'm a bit of a noob and totally stuck on this one  ???

themdla

MikeH

It sounds like you may have changed the clipping threshold somehow, and you could bo on to something with the dotted components.  The only real way to know would be to change them back and see if the problem goes away.

For future reference: Every time I mod a pedal I plug it in and check it's functioning after every component added/replaced/removed.  It's the only way to know for sure which mod is mucking things up.
"Sounds like a Fab Metal to me." -DougH

PRR

> i decided to mod a friends' Japanese DS-1 (TA7136AP)

Is there a spec-sheet or schematic for this TA7136?

It appears to be one of those odd 5-transistor preamp chips, made in great varieties back in the 1970s before large analog chips arrived.

What works for one such chip may not work for another. (Which may be why you got no comment.)
  • SUPPORTER

themdla

@PRR

the pinout has been added to the schematic along with operating voltage.. will this suffice?
yes you are correct... what work for one chip will not work for another...