Anderton Tube sound fuzz howling problems

Started by thom__stone, December 12, 2009, 07:23:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

thom__stone

Hey all, I'm very new to this whole pedal building business, infact this is my first ever pedal so excuse me if I miss pieces of vital information.

I decided to start with the Anderton Tube sound fuzz because it didn't look overly complicated (with my dad looking over my shoulder) and it seems to be a very popular pedal. When i put in my true bypass circuit (with a 6 pin stomp switch, a battery and no LED) I noticed that the volume jump from the bypass to the effect was HUGE! and after i mounted the circuit and components in the case it started to howl like a mother bitch on the lead setting. I used a PCB which Ive checked over and over, double checked the values on all my components, checked the capacitors are the right way round, the only thing I'm unsure of is the earthing. It still distorts or fuzz's and seems to work, I'm just not 100% sure of it. Ive also tried about 15 different IC's as i ordered a tube of 25. all of them seem to howl. is there an obvious mistake I'm making here?

here's the schematic, I'm pretty sure i followed it exactly when it comes to parts,

bosleymusic.com

Possible solutions:
Are you using shielded cable from the input/output jacks to the board?
You may want to increase the value of C1 and C2 to lower the cutoff frequency of the filtering.
Change R6 to a lower value.
Is your project in a metal box or a plastic one?
A plastic box will let in external RF / interference, etc... a grounded metal box will give you proper shielding.

psychedelicfish