Sometimes the most elegant solution is the simplest

Started by doubleg, December 14, 2009, 12:20:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

doubleg

This post really doesn't pose any specific questions, it's more of a minor epiphany I had after having a few pedal builds under my belt. As the thread title suggests, simplicity of design seems to be the best way to go. (Considering I'm a CAD designer by day, you'd think i would instinctively know this as it applies to the pedal building hobby i have undertaken.)

One case in point- I built the Clean Octave Boost by Prescription Electronics a few months back. The fact that the parts count was moderately high, 20 resistors or so, 10 caps, 4 transistors, couple of diodes, plus the pots and inputs and whatnot, it was/is my most challenging build to date. That being said, I had a hard time debugging it, took me a few nites after the initial wiring up of said pedal to finally trace my problems to one or two bad solder joints on the board. Since that time i had used it for some gigs, but was finding that it was a bit finicky sometimes, for some reason  the octave circuit wouldnt always engage when i hit the switch.  But i lived with it.  The final straw for me was i decided to mod it by adding the 3pdt with led indication, i also added a 220 uf filter cap to reduce power supply noise. After adding all that the pedal was getting really wonky; it was less reliable. my first though was my mods i added. I spent a few more nites going over everything, finally got to the point where i pulled the board and realized something wasnt right with it. Long story short, I decided to start from scratch.