News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

Theremin

Started by Radamus, December 16, 2009, 01:40:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Radamus

Hello,

I'm looking to build a Theremin and I've come to find a significant gap in the available schematics. Some of the earliest designs for Theremins using tubes and a large number of inductors are available, as are really modern interpretations with Optics instead of antennas, etc.

I am looking for a schematic that has solid state electronics, two antennas, and inductive circuits that don't actually use inductors. I imagine that something like this has to exist. The closest I've come so far is this project: http://www.swtpc.com/mholley/PopularElectronics/Nov1967/PE_Nov1967.htm . It still uses inductors, and I'm not a skilled engineer so I don't know how to replace the inductors with circuits.

Does anyone out there know of a Theremin design that is more like what I'm asking for? I don't think that what I've asked for is too specific, as I can't imagine anyone these days being too crazy about inductors.

If you know of any websites where I can find some sort of formula for replacing inductors, I could try that as well.

Thanks!

ianmgull

Inductors in EQ circuits are sometimes replaced with gyrator circuits:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gyrator

linny1982

jaycar electronics have a kit from silicon chip magazine. http://jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=KC5475&keywords=theremin&form=KEYWORD i did the mk1 version a few years ago and it worked pretty well. i don't think its exactly what your lookin for but its a pretty good kit.

Cliff Schecht