GGG Phase 45/Maillet mods help for newbie

Started by philbinator1, December 20, 2009, 10:12:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

philbinator1

Hi Everyone!

I'm a total newbie to this forum (as in, the last 5 minutes), i'm also a member of other forums on
the web.

I'm pretty relatively new to diy, have made up kits before (the latest being the byoc reverb) and i
would love to do the maillet mods but have not idea how to follow the instuctions at
http://www.lynx.bc.ca/~jc/pedalsPhase45.html  , i don't know how to follow the schematic and i
can't see the resistor values on the GGG Phase 45 pcb.  Can anyone point me in the right direction;
maybe someone has an easier way of explaining how to do the mods, or some informative links?   ???

thanks in advance,
Phill   :)
"Hows are we's?  We's in the f*cking middle of a dinners meal!  Dats hows we am!" - Skwisgaar Skwigelf

philbinator1

"Hows are we's?  We's in the f*cking middle of a dinners meal!  Dats hows we am!" - Skwisgaar Skwigelf

philbinator1

Bumping this; not quite so new to diy now but i still don't understand the malliet mods schematic, if there are extra components
required or not?  cheers all   :)

R.G.

There are extra components required. I have not compared the schematics (stock versus modified) exhaustively, but I see at least:
- one SPDT switch for switching capacitors
- one 22K pot for the mix control (probably you'd have to use a 20K or 25K, both would work)
- 100K pot for the bias control
- 24K and LED for the rate indicator, which simply blinks on and off, not a smooth rise and fall
- two 8.2K resistors
- probably the two 47Ks with the bias control

The switching capacitors thing simply changes the stock values which produce a single sharp notch for staggered values which tend to distribute the phase difference across a wide frequency range - better for vibrato instead of phasing.