R.G's Low-Fidelity / Telephone / Noise Pedal - Noise section debug

Started by chi_boy, December 29, 2009, 11:44:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chi_boy

I made a layout for the Low-Fidelity / Telephone / Noise Pedal from R.G.'s site and for the most part it works fine.  The filter section work perfectly per R.G. schematic, but I am having a problem with the noise source side of the circuit. 

This is my first attempt at a layout from schematic, so I suspect it is something I did, but I've been looking at this for 2 nights and I'm stumped.  It's only six parts, and not complex.

Would anyone be willing to look at the noise portion just to make sure I didn't miss something silly in the layout?  That portion of the circuit is circled in the image.  I used 2n5088's for Q1 and Q2 and a .1uF for the unmarked cap per R.G.'s comments on the forum. 

When I swing the panner to the "noise" side I hear a faint hiss that is relatively quiet, almost silent.  I was expecting to hear a little more racket with more volume, but maybe my expectations are the problem.  I will likely experiment with different transistors, but I would like to know that the layout is right and that my expectations are reasonable before doing that.

Thanks for any help.

George

R.G.'s Schematic

My version:

My layout:

"Great minds discuss ideas, average minds discuss events, small minds discuss people." — Admiral Hyman G. Rickover - 1900-1986

The Leftover PCB Page

R.G.

Quote from: chi_boy on December 29, 2009, 11:44:50 PM
I made a layout for the Low-Fidelity / Telephone / Noise Pedal from R.G.'s site and for the most part it works fine.  The filter section work perfectly per R.G. schematic, but I am having a problem with the noise source side of the circuit.