Supply power to guitar through cord?

Started by taang, January 17, 2010, 09:41:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

taang

Hey all,
I'm fairly new to pedal wiring/electronics, etc. and I have a fairly crazy idea. Here it goes: is it possible to run a power supply through a stereo guitar cable to power on-board effects on the guitar? I'd like to do this because there's no room in my guitar for batteries AND effects, and routers are scary.

The thing stopping me from just trying it is that I'm not sure which type of cable to use, or whether or not it's okay to shield a DC current (if I use a mic cable or something).

My idea is to have a box on the floor that would add the power to the cords. Here's a diagram:

EDIT: whoops, I realize that the LED is wired completely wrong. Just pretend it's a fancy jumper or something.

Any thoughts?

G. Hoffman

I'm pretty sure I wouldn't want to put power through your pickups.  I've got a feeling it wouldn't be very good for them (42 gauge wire is pretty damn small, and can't handle much current!).  You could, I suppose, block the DC with a cap, but you are still going to have problems with the guitar signal modulating the power to your effects. 

If you are thinking this is something like phantom power for mics, it's not.  Phantom power runs +24 volts on both sides of the balanced line.  Because one of those lines gets inverted prior to any of the electronics, it gets canceled out.  I have to admit, I'm not entirely sure how they keep the audio from messing with the DC, but at a guess it has a lot to do with the much higher voltage, and the much lower voltage and impedance of mic signals.

Gabriel

GibsonGM

The only real issue I see with providing 9V to the on-board stuff is possibly coupling noise into your signal path. But, it can be done w/a stereo cable as long as signal and power are kept separate, sure.