non-inverting opamp gain stage

Started by lowstar, September 04, 2006, 06:57:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

lowstar

hi folks,
i´m trying to stick a non-inverting opamp gain stage at the end of my bad stone and can´t get the damn thing to work. i studied every article and thread i could find for the last 3 hours today and 4 hours yesterday to no avail. the inverting one i did 3 days ago worked just like i expected...

this is what i did:

i connected 9v to pin8, gnd to pin4, used 470K for R2 and 100K for R1. the input goes to pin 5 (i used the 2nd half of one 4558), it comes from a cap (0.1 from the output of the bad stone). R2 i put between pin 6 and 7, from the junction pin6/R2 i ran R1 to gnd. the output i took from pin 7 via a 2.2 electro (+ facing the opamp) to out.

and there is no sound coming out.

i tried connecting the R2/R1 network to vref instead of gnd (there´s a 4V rail on the bad stone), i tried connecting vref to the input with the input signal...no go. if i let R2/R1 float without connection and touch the input (non-inverting) with 4.5v, i get sound for half a second, then it fades away.

what am i doing wrong ??

i even downloaded the device magazines from the google cache (can´t acces the pages, son´t know why) and read his articles on the opamps. he draws it exactly like the pic. why doesn´t it work for me ? i looked for shorts, i measured all voltages, i tried different opamps, nada.

this is driving me nuts.

anybody ??
effects built counter: stopped counting at 100

lowstar

ok, i put the resistor network r1/r2 to vref instead of ground, and hooked up the vref to the input also via a 1Meg resistor, now it works.

but could somebody explain to me why the vref has to be both on the - and + inputs ?