How do I debug with a scope?

Started by Skruffyhound, February 04, 2010, 05:21:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Skruffyhound

Would anybody be kind enough to explain how to systematically debug using a scope please?
There are references all over as to how much a scope can help with debugging but not much about the steps one should take.
I understand the idea of using a function generator/scope for tuning/testing of circuits, but for debugging, what is it that makes a scope more powerful than a DMM?

Thanks

anchovie

You can view AC waveforms. It's like a silent audio probe! You can also check the output of a LFO.
Bringing you yesterday's technology tomorrow.

G. Hoffman

To expand on that just a bit (I'm just starting to learn to use a scope, so I'm far from an expert), a DMM gives you a reading for a particular instant or the average over a period of time.  But it doesn't do a very good job of showing you how the signal changes over time.  An o'scope allows you to see how a signal is changing during a period of time.  As you follow your signal through the circuit, you keep track of what it is supposed to be doing, and when it starts doing something different you have localized your problem.  In addition, the nature of the distortions to the waveform should be visible, which may well help you figure out why you are having a problem. 

Gabriel

Processaurus