Passive Volume Pad

Started by Robes, February 20, 2010, 03:07:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Robes

Hi there, I'm new here and completely new to any DIY work so apologies for the very basic questions and project that this post comprises of!

I've just exchanged my 2 channel amp for a single channel JCM 800 and I intend to use plenty of gain on the amp.  I still need a clean sound however and I thought that building a pedal to pad my guitars signal may be a nice way to get into DIY.

Now I've had a look around the internet and these forums but I've yet to find a simple diagram for a similar pedal to the one I'm looking for.  There have been posts regarding this on this very forum but the schematics seem to be long gone.

So here is what I figure I need:

A couple of mono guitar jacks:
A foot switch
A potentiometer (1M?)
A case

Now as I said before I am a complete novice but this is what I have gathered so far in my research.

The input jack tip connects to one of the outside lugs of the potentiometer, the middle lug connects to the output jack tip and the final outside lug connects to the output jack sleeve.  That should make a simple non-bypassable volume control.  I'm not sure where the input jack sleeve should connect or can it just be left unconnected?

Now I have no idea how to connect the switch.  I would assume that the switch allows one input to be output to a choice of output connects.  Do I simply connect this before the potentiometer with one output attached to the first outside lug on the potentiometer and the other switch output connected to the output jack tip?  

I've also seen talk of a capacitor being soldered across the input and output lugs of the potentiometer to reduce "tone sucking" however values seem to have alluded me.