|HOME| |DIY FAQ| |GEO FAQ| |Debugging Page| |Links| |Schematics| |Wiki| |Layouts Gallery| |STORE|
|AMPAGE| |GEOFEX| |AMZ|

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 24, 2014, 07:36:11 AM
946555 Posts in 101632 Topics by 31726 Members
Latest Member: RenéF
Home Help Login Register
DIYstompboxes.com  |  DIY Stompboxes  |  Digital & DSP  |  Did anyone used Tonepad Digital Reverb with additional memory? (FV-1 IC) 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Did anyone used Tonepad Digital Reverb with additional memory? (FV-1 IC)  (Read 6758 times)
Jule553648
Posts: 42


Did anyone used Tonepad Digital Reverb with additional memory? (FV-1 IC)
« on: March 06, 2010, 02:56:21 AM »

I am looking here:
http://tonepad.com/getFile.asp?id=122

It is left place for additional memory for more effects.

Did anyone tried to make something from that?

Because it sounds preety cool:
chorus + reverb, delay etc...


But this effect aren't programmed in IC itself?

So is there any project using some additional EEPROM?
Logged
hgamal
Posts: 30


Re: Did anyone used Tonepad Digital Reverb with additional memory? (FV-1 IC)
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2010, 09:14:21 AM »

I use the tonepad project with external eeprom. The tonepad project is prepared to use it.

As it is difficult to find here (I live in brazil) the sixteen position binary key and the 3.3 voltage regulator. I have made a small circuit using PIC to implement the binary switch and to source the 3.3 V needed.

Schematics:


Component side view:


Solder side view:


Using sdcc (http:/sdcc.sourceforge.net) you can compile this small code:
Code:
#include <pic12f629.h>

#define CONFIG_WORD _CP_OFF & _MCLRE_OFF & _WDT_OFF & _INTRC_OSC_NOCLKOUT

unsigned int at 0x2007  __CONFIG = CONFIG_WORD;

void initialize()
{
_asm
call 3ffh
movwf OSCCAL
_endasm;

CMCON = 0x7;
TRISIO = 0x18;
}

void sleep(int tim)
{
unsigned int i;
unsigned int j;
for (i=0; i<tim; i++)
for (j=0; j<0xff; j++)
;
}

readee(unsigned char ptr)
{
EEADR = ptr;
RD = 1;
return EEDATA;
}

void writeee(unsigned char ptr, unsigned char value)
{
// Set value and address
EEDATA = value;
EEADR = ptr;

// EEPROM MOJO
_asm
bsf EECON1_ADDR, 2 ; Enable write: WREN = 2
bcf INTCON_ADDR, 7 ; Disable INTs: GIE = 7
movlw 0x55
movwf EECON2_ADDR
movlw 0xaa
movwf EECON2_ADDR
bsf EECON1_ADDR, 1 ; Start the write: WR = 1
bcf EECON1_ADDR, 2 ; Disable write:   WREN = 2
bsf INTCON_ADDR, 7 ; Enable INTS:     GIE = 7
_endasm;

}

#define MAXKEYBOUNCE 64
#define CURRPROG 0

unsigned char upcount;
unsigned char dncount;
unsigned char currprog;

void output()
{
GPIO = (currprog & 0x7) | ((currprog & 0x8) << 2);
writeee(0, currprog);
}

main()
{
initialize();

currprog = readee(0);
upcount = 0;
dncount = 0;

output();

while (1) {
if (!GP4) {
if (upcount > MAXKEYBOUNCE)
continue;

upcount++;
if (upcount > MAXKEYBOUNCE) {
++currprog;
output();
}
continue;
}

upcount = 0;

if (!GP3) {
if (dncount > MAXKEYBOUNCE)
continue;

dncount++;
if (dncount > MAXKEYBOUNCE) {
--currprog;
output();
}
continue;
}

dncount = 0;
}
}

In order to switch the effect I use a 3PDT, but I get the signal after the FETs output, using one 3PDT pole  to each channel (left and right) on split bypass approach. The third 3PDT pole I use to activate the effect on led indicator.

The photo bellow is the finished pedal without the effects  and overload indicator (that I put later):



Logged

Haroldo Gamal
Jule553648
Posts: 42


Re: Did anyone used Tonepad Digital Reverb with additional memory? (FV-1 IC)
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2010, 11:30:56 AM »

Thanks!

So, that 4 connections (B0, B1, B2, I/E) are connected to S1 S2 S3? I/E is connected where?


In datasheet it says that there should be external eeprom 24LC32A on that pads in bottom left corner from copper side. So If I want more effects i need to program the eeprom? Where can I get programmer for it and where to get a program to put in in?



I am very confused.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2010, 11:54:56 AM by Jule553648 » Logged
Taylor
Posts: 3886

The clean energy source of the future.


Re: Did anyone used Tonepad Digital Reverb with additional memory? (FV-1 IC)
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2010, 07:57:03 PM »

All will be revealed by reading all the info at spinsemi.com.

hgamal, your PIC solution for switching effects is nice!
Logged

hgamal
Posts: 30


Re: Did anyone used Tonepad Digital Reverb with additional memory? (FV-1 IC)
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2010, 07:17:59 AM »

So, that 4 connections (B0, B1, B2, I/E) are connected to S1 S2 S3?
Yes

Quote
I/E is connected where?
There is a jumper on pcb named "in-ext". See the center of the board . You have to plug "I/E" to the pink side of this jumper to the "I/E".

Quote
In datasheet it says that there should be external eeprom 24LC32A on that pads in bottom left corner from copper side. So If I want more effects i need to program the eeprom?
Yes!

Quote
Where can I get programmer for it and where to get a program to put in in?
There are several small DIY programmers listed on the net. Peek one and do it. I have used one of those projetcs known as JDM programmer.

http://www.jdm.homepage.dk/newpic.htm
Logged

Haroldo Gamal
Jule553648
Posts: 42


Re: Did anyone used Tonepad Digital Reverb with additional memory? (FV-1 IC)
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2010, 11:08:10 AM »

OK! Thank you very much!

Only one more question:

Where to get some good effect programs to put in?
Logged
Taylor
Posts: 3886

The clean energy source of the future.


Re: Did anyone used Tonepad Digital Reverb with additional memory? (FV-1 IC)
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2010, 12:45:26 PM »

All will be revealed by reading all the info at spinsemi.com.

Lots of sample programs there, specifically http://www.spinsemi.com/programs.php.
Logged

MetalGuy
Posts: 408


Re: Did anyone used Tonepad Digital Reverb with additional memory? (FV-1 IC)
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2010, 03:20:01 PM »

Congrats fot the PIC solution. It was about time. I'm using the 629 a lot but mainly for switching.
Since you're into PICs and stuff it would be nice if you write a code to be used with an encoder instead of up/down buttons.
Logged
hgamal
Posts: 30


Re: Did anyone used Tonepad Digital Reverb with additional memory? (FV-1 IC)
« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2010, 05:24:50 PM »

Congrats fot the PIC solution. It was about time. I'm using the 629 a lot but mainly for switching.
Since you're into PICs and stuff it would be nice if you write a code to be used with an encoder instead of up/down buttons.

What kind of encoder are you talking about?
Logged

Haroldo Gamal
Jule553648
Posts: 42


Re: Did anyone used Tonepad Digital Reverb with additional memory? (FV-1 IC)
« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2010, 09:49:55 AM »

All will be revealed by reading all the info at spinsemi.com.

Lots of sample programs there, specifically http://www.spinsemi.com/programs.php.

Yes, some are really there, but I saw someone put on like 8 additional effects(flange, tremolo, reverb, autowah..) on that eeprom. I can't finde source for that!


Someone used this:

http://www.profusionplc.com/images/data%20sheets/ra-fx16g.pdf

?

It looks great! it cost like 22 pounds!
« Last Edit: March 08, 2010, 09:58:48 AM by Jule553648 » Logged
Ice-9
Posts: 1490


Mick T


Re: Did anyone used Tonepad Digital Reverb with additional memory? (FV-1 IC)
« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2010, 11:11:15 AM »

Here is a bank of 8 effects to download onto an EEPROM they are from the spin website and inclue an envelope filter , dist, od, compressor, flanger etc.

http://www.spinsemi.com/guitar_amp_application.html
Logged

My favorite setting on one of those is BYPASS.
Jule553648
Posts: 42


Re: Did anyone used Tonepad Digital Reverb with additional memory? (FV-1 IC)
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2010, 12:06:57 PM »

Thank you very much! So this program also works on tonepad layout?

I will start to build it immediately!

Oh yes also:

If I can see correctly, the EEPROM can be programmed in circuit? So if I someday write my own program, can I program it to my board when it is already soldered?

EDIT: I can't find a program to open those .spn files Sad
« Last Edit: March 08, 2010, 01:17:07 PM by Jule553648 » Logged
Taylor
Posts: 3886

The clean energy source of the future.


Re: Did anyone used Tonepad Digital Reverb with additional memory? (FV-1 IC)
« Reply #12 on: March 08, 2010, 01:28:34 PM »

C'mon, buddy, why don't you just go to the website? Answers to every question you are asking and going to ask are already there. You can use the free software on the site to put any 8 programs onto the EEPROM. All the programs I linked to you can be combined any way you like and you can put 8 of them on the EEPROM.
Logged

MetalGuy
Posts: 408


Re: Did anyone used Tonepad Digital Reverb with additional memory? (FV-1 IC)
« Reply #13 on: March 08, 2010, 03:36:26 PM »

Quote
What kind of encoder are you talking about?

I meant an ordinary incremental encoder like this one for example:

http://www.alliedelec.com/search/productdetail.aspx?SKU=7540051

Logged
Ice-9
Posts: 1490


Mick T


Re: Did anyone used Tonepad Digital Reverb with additional memory? (FV-1 IC)
« Reply #14 on: March 09, 2010, 10:11:45 AM »


EDIT: I can't find a program to open those .spn files Sad

follow this link and at the botom of thepage are 3 downloads 1 is for the intruction set to write your own programs and there is 1 for the *.SPN files.

probs took me longer to type this than it would of for you to have just found them yourself as Taylor said, but there you go have fun
Logged

My favorite setting on one of those is BYPASS.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to: