Vox Tone Bender

Started by maudlinwaltzer, May 11, 2010, 01:56:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

maudlinwaltzer

Hey all y'all,

I'm new here yes.  Hello.  I am just a noob so be kind.  I am sitting here looking at a Vox Tone Bender, silver case with black face.  When researching the transistors at Fuzzcentral I leaned they commonly had a SFT337 and and an OC76.  The one I have doesn't; rather, a SFT337 and an ATES AC135.  Can some wizard explain what's up with that?  How do the two transistors differ?  Why would this pedal not have a OC76?

Mine looks like this.

Thanks for any help.

maarten

Hello Maudlinwaltzer,

Quite usual to replace parts with other parts with approximately the same characteristics. Both OC76 and AC135 are of the germanium type (nowadays hard to find) and both are low voltage, low power and low gain (especially when compared to current transistor types), AC135 being rated for an hfe (gain) of 70 and OC76 of 30 (or less). So probably your AC 135 was considered to be a good substitute for the OC76 at that time - and it probably still is. Kind of difficult to find good information on these transistors, as they were both obsolete long before datasheets were uploaded tot he internet. Maybe somebody else can give you some further information on the difference between these 2 transistors, but to my opinion the difference does not matter.
It must be an old pedal, probably from the seventies at latest, I would imagine (based upon the transistors being used, that is: if they are the originals). Maybe best to keep it in original shape and enjoy it without any modding...
Maarten

zombiwoof

I had one exactly like that for several years that I bought when I was a kid from Saul Betnun's in L.A.  I still regret selling it, it sounded awesome.  I'm sure they probably came with a variety of trannies over time, it probably is stock.  Unfortunately when I had it I knew nothing about transistors and such, so I don't know what mine had in it.

Al

Scruffie