The Art of Stompbox Wiring

Started by Steve Mavronis, May 19, 2010, 09:39:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Steve Mavronis

As I'm starting to wire up my first pedals, my desire is to do as neat a job as possible. Being a computer tech by profession I hate sloppy wiring that ends up looking like a rats nest or a pile of spaghetti. I'm really impressed and inspired by the pedal wiring jobs I've seen in the Pictures section here at DIY Stompboxes! They really are a work of art. Has anyone done a guide or have some tips to share on what to think about to do a neat wiring job that's a pleasure to look at?
Guitar > Neo-Classic 741 Overdrive > Boss NS2 Noise Suppressor > DOD BiFET Boost 410 > VHT Special 6 Ultra Combo Amp Input > Amp Send > MXR Carbon Copy Analog Delay > Boss RC3 Loop Station > Amp Return

R.G.

Quote from: Steve Mavronis on May 19, 2010, 09:39:31 AM
Has anyone done a guide or have some tips to share on what to think about to do a neat wiring job that's a pleasure to look at?
Do a nicely wired pedal, then put it under a piece of plexiglass and mount it on the wall.

Do a less nicely wired pedal that works well and reliably even if the wiring is "only" functional and reliable if not so pretty, and seal it up in a metal enclosure. Look at the one on the wall, and play the one with the solid metal enclosure.

:icon_lol:
R.G.

In response to the questions in the forum - PCB Layout for Musical Effects is available from The Book Patch. Search "PCB Layout" and it ought to appear.

Steve Mavronis

Quote from: R.G. on May 19, 2010, 09:56:20 AM
Do a nicely wired pedal, then put it under a piece of plexiglass and mount it on the wall. :icon_lol:

Well since I'm making twin pedal copies I might just do that. ;)