Enclosure only problem..

Started by pete27, June 04, 2010, 07:56:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

pete27

Hi all,
Ive only been building effects for a couple months so im a relative noob.. But i have a question i was hoping someone can help me with:
I built the EHX Screaming Bird/Tree the other day outside of an enclosure (was waiting for the boxes to arrive) and then today got the Hammond enclosures in the mail, drilled the holes, put in the effect and all i got was a horrible crackle/crap sound only when i strum hard enough. So i took the effect back out of the enclosure and it all works perfectly again.. Then back in it and it does the same thing. So obviously the circuit itself is ok as it does all work, but something goes wrong if i want to put it in the box! Im assuming this is some kind of shorting/grounding issue with the box, but ive checked everything over and i cant figure it out.. i was just wondering if anyone knows possibly why this might be happening?? I have a feeling its something simple i havnt learnt about yet..
Oh also i lined the inside of the box with duct tape as i thought maybe my circuit was shorting out, but its definately not, so im assuming it has to do with my output jack...? Because true bypass works fine.
Any help would really be appreciated, thanks

Ice-9

I don't have the schematic for this effect, is it a positive earth circuit, if so that may be a problem when mounted in an enclosue, maybe a photo of your build would help in anyone trying to help.
www.stanleyfx.co.uk

Sanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting the same result. Mick Taylor

Please at least have 1 forum post before sending me a PM demanding something.

ghostsauce

I'm new at this too, but it sounds to me like it could be a bad solder joint that doesn't act up until it's squished inside a box and stressing it.  Try wiggling the parts while it's out of the box maybe?

CynicalMan

Check out the first symptom here:
www.geofex.com/fxdebug/newfx.htm