Boss OD-1 Clone 14 pin op amp

Started by ScienceFriction, August 08, 2010, 12:08:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ScienceFriction

Hello, DIY stompbox newbie here I hope posting a new thread is okay.  I'm planning on attempting my first homemade stompbox, and I was hoping I could find some answers and direction here.

I want to make a clone of the Boss OD-1 RC3403ADB chip pedal clone.  I've already gotten my hands on a RC3403ADB chip, but I'm struggling to find the rest of the parts.  I want it to sound exactly like the original, or as close as I can get.  I know stompbox cafe has a parts list, but for example I'm confused by the parts numbers on the Mylar Capacitors.  Does it only matter if the capacitor is Mylar and value?  I have soldering experience, but not electronics experience.  So, does anyone have an idea where I can find the correct parts for this project?  I have no idea where to even find a 1S2473 Vintage Si Diode or Main PCB (35 X 56 mm).

Also, I want to add a tone knob and true bypass to my OD-1 clone as well, would that change the sound much?  I mean, hypothetically speaking, if I didn't use the tone knob I would assume it would sound the same as an original OD-1.  I have an OD-1D with the uPC4558C (NEC), so I have something to use as a guide, but I don't plan on messing with that pedal, I like it.  If anyone could help me I'd be incredibly grateful. 

Earthscum

I don't think you mean the OD-1. That is a fairly straight forward overdrive using only one IC, a dual OP Amp (uPC4558C).
Give a man Fuzz, and he'll jam for a day... teach a man how to make a Fuzz and he'll never jam again!

http://www.facebook.com/Earthscum

zombiwoof

Quote from: Earthscum on August 08, 2010, 12:24:12 AM
I don't think you mean the OD-1. That is a fairly straight forward overdrive using only one IC, a dual OP Amp (uPC4558C).

The very rare and very expensive early version has the 14-pin chip.  These are going for outrageous money on Ebay these days: