Tonegod's Wicked Switch Layout

Started by Fael, September 11, 2010, 02:02:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fael

I recently came across Tonegod's switching article (http://www.thetonegod.com/tech/switches/switches.html) and I am very interested in building either the "Wicked Switch: Momentary w/ NAND Gates" or the "Wicked Switch: Momentary w/ Flip-Flop (NAND)."

The problem is... well, I'm an economist. Not an electrical engineer.

I opened a thread some days ago asking for info on latching relay based true bypass but electronic switching seems: 1.- cheaper; 2.- more reliable; and 3.- easier.

However, I do not understand some aspects that I know some of you guys will be able to clarify for me.

1.- R.G. Keen has said that this is, technically, not true bypass. However, I've also read that the difference between real true bypass and electronic switching is minimal. Is this true?

Now let's go to the technical questions:

2.- The figures that look like this: are part of the NAND IC? I plan on using the 4093 IC.

From a datasheet I obtained (www.floka.com/cmos/pdf/4093.pdf), I understand that there are four figures like that one on the 4093 IC.

Does that mean that, for the Momentary w/ NAND Gates switch, there is only one 4093 IC?

Is this layout right?

3.- What should the value on the resistor labeled as "?" on the previous picture be?

4.- What does "Vs" mean?

5.- Where do pin 7 (Vss) and pin 14 (Vdd) on the 4066 IC go to? (GND?)

6.- If a part of an IC is not illustrated (e.g, half of the 4093 IC on the Momentary w/ Flip-Flop (NAND)) does that mean that the pins are simply not connected to anything? (Or are they going to GND?)

I emphasized my questions to help you focus on my inquiries.

Thanks in advance to anyone willing to help me out.

Earthscum

I can answer a couple questions for you:

At a glance, layout looks correct.

4: VS is your Source Voltage. This leads to :