One transistor Octave Up?

Started by Jaicen_solo, November 08, 2010, 05:10:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jaicen_solo

Ok, if I want to graft an octave effect onto a fuzz that I have. I want it to be super simple, so ideally just one transistor, a couple of diodes, something like that.
For example, how much of the green ringer can I cut away if I drive it directly from the collector of Q2 in a fuzz face?

rousejeremy

Consistency is a worthy adversary

www.jeremyrouse.weebly.com

Jazznoise

You can do a one transistor octave with no volume loss, just follow a Common Emitter with a diode bridge.

.. but you'll need an op amp after the diodes for recovery gain! :D
Expressway To Yr Null

Derringer

http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?topic=86740.0

if you have enough gain available, this might do it .. otherwise you'll need a boost stage

brett

Hi
1 transistor octave?
Hmm... I'm no expert, but I think there's only 1 transistor doing the octave in the Octavia (Roger Mayer's).  The first stage is a booster/fuzz.

I can't remember the details of RM's circuit, but you might try it like this:-
1. Make a single transistor booster (common emitter or common source e.g. Stratoblaster)
2. Half-wave rectify the signals from the collector/drain and emitter/source with a series diode each.  It's a booster/phase splitter.
3. Connect the half-waves back together via a resistor/s to ground (100k to 220k).
4.  "tap" the output from "above" the resistor via a small cap (0.1uF)

I think that'll work.
Brett Robinson
Let a hundred flowers bloom, let a hundred schools of thought contend. (Mao Zedong)

Ben N

Can you do phase split with gain?
  • SUPPORTER

mac

The Green Ringer 1st stage is direct coupled to the transistor that does the octave up. So if you bias a FF at 4.5v you can direct couple the Green Ringer 2nd stage, and depending on the final volume the 3rd one.