analog switch IC with 8 or more SPSTs?

Started by choklitlove, December 13, 2010, 12:47:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

choklitlove

hi you guys.  i've been searching for something like the 4066, except with more than 4 internal switches.  i'm new to these types of ICs, so the search is difficult...  Thanks for any help!
my band.                    my DIY page.                    my solo music.

PRR

Eight SPST.

That's two terminals in/out for each switch. Another terminal for control. Plus two power pins.

I count 26 pins.

DIP packages come 8 14 16 even 20 pins. And more... wasn't the 8o88 CPU in a 40-pin DIP? But the many-pin DIP packages cost a lot more. And will find fewer buyers. It is cheaper to make a million quad switch in stock 14-pin packages, and let heavy users buy two or three.

What are you really trying to do? Really 8 separate switches? Or do they come together? 8-in 1-out parts are common. 8x8 crosspoint switches exist. If you like soldering microscopic bumps there are much large crosspoint arrays.
  • SUPPORTER

choklitlove

yes, i realize it would require around that many pins.  surface mount would be fine, since it would save me from using 4 DIPs.

not positive on my desired application yet.  i have several in mind.  one is i'm attempting to sequence 8 steps of control (POTs), not voltage.  so i thought i could use the output voltages of the sequencer to trigger the switches.  8 steps, 2 POT gangs apiece, equals 16 total switches.

hopefully that made sense...  it may be stupid, I know, but I'd really like to figure it out anyway.

PRR

Now it is 16 SPST?

Minimum 50 pins.

In 4066 that is 56 pins. DIPs can be butted lengthwise so it looks like one very long DIP. The six extra power pins seem minor compared to all those signal pins.

> sequence 8 steps of control