beginner question - batteries and LEDs

Started by youngstownguitar, December 14, 2010, 01:28:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

youngstownguitar

I'm still learning.

If you have a layout for a pedal that works with a DC Jack and a battery clip but you want to remove the battery clip can you just leave it off?  Or will that screw up the circuit and you should replace it with something else?

Regarding LEDs, I see one end is longer then the other but which is positive and which is negative?

Is a good path for setting up a LED basically:
switch - LED- resistor - 9v   ?

I know these questions arent very complicated but I seriously spent hours trying to figure them out- and info you guys could share would be appreciated- thanks a lot

Jhouse

Nope, You can't completely forget about the battery clip and nothing bad comes of it. You can also use a mono jack for the input if you aren't worried about power switching.

As for the LED, it's just a good habit to have the longer side (considered the positive I guess) side going to the DC jack, but always solder a resistor in between them, a 2k2 or 4k7 works nicely.

PRR

> the battery clip can you just leave it off?

Yes.

At least on the plan you posted.

I will point out that a battery clip will seem cheap the day your power supply gives trouble and you need to get the pedal working NOW.

> Nope, You can't completely forget about the battery clip and nothing bad comes of it.

I'm not following this sentence. Maybe the internet scrambled what you typed?
  • SUPPORTER

PRR

> which is positive and which is regular?

"Regular"?

Anyway... I've worked with LEDs since they came down below $5 each (around 1979) and _I_ can never remember which way they go. Generally when I know it's gotta work, I try one way, then the other. (9V reverse polarity through the usual resistor does no harm to an LED.)