Does a Rangemaster have similar tonal characteristics to a clean Fuzz Face?

Started by EPL, January 01, 2011, 06:29:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

EPL

I'm new to modding and building pedals and to analog effects in general, having used modeled effects for years. So please forgive my ignorance.

I received and built a Fuzz Face kit--Build Your Own Clone E.S.V. Vintage Fuzz, germanium version--this Christmas. I built it with no complications; this surprised me because the Bazz Fuss kit I built earlier this year proved to be all sorts of problematic. I like it, the Fuzz Face. I like its fuzz and how it cleans up with the guitar's volume knob, which the Bazz Fuss doesn't do. And I really like what it does to my sound when it's clean; it makes my guitar come alive, brightens it.

I'd like to get this same sound without breaking into fuzz with more vigorous playing (although I like being able to move from clean to fuzz according to my attack, usually I want to stay clean). Does the liveliness I'm finding with the clean Fuzz Face come from its germanium transistors? And if so, would a germanium transistor-based boost like a Rangemaster provide a similar effect? I'm considering a Rangemaster because kits are readily available and inexpensive and look fairly simple.

I'd be using the boost always-on to give myself that beautifully bright tone, not on-and-off to emphasize solos (I rarely solo) or to push my amp into overdrive (my solid-state Fender Princeton Chorus doesn't do that). Is the Rangemaster what I'm looking for?

aflynt