|HOME| |DIY FAQ| |GEO FAQ| |Debugging Page| |Links| |Schematics| |Wiki| |Layouts Gallery| |STORE|
|AMPAGE| |GEOFEX| |AMZ|

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 26, 2014, 03:26:09 AM
971869 Posts in 103610 Topics by 33047 Members
Latest Member: letschaochao
Home Help Login Register
DIYstompboxes.com  |  DIY Stompboxes  |  Building your own stompbox  |  Pictures  |  3D models of your builds - SolidWorks 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: 3D models of your builds - SolidWorks  (Read 4362 times)
gtudoran
Posts: 361


WWW
3D models of your builds - SolidWorks
« on: February 17, 2012, 07:54:49 AM »

Hey guys,

For about 1 week i've played with SolidWorks for 3D models and assembly process. So here is my first 3d mode - a 6 loop switcher with an included power supply.


Best regards,
Gabriel Tudoran
Analog Sound

PS: if someone is intrested i can provide the 3d models made in SolidWorks.

PDF of the 3d model: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/15275178/Solidworks/Sw_Projects/Switcher/Assambly-looperV3.PDF
Logged

Analog Sound Website: http://www.analog-sound.com
defaced
Posts: 1178


Super Evil Genius


Re: 3D models of your builds - SolidWorks
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2012, 08:07:36 AM »

Very cool!  I model alot of my builds so I can iron out any mechanical interferences ahead of drilling/assembly.  I've done a couple of projects this way, but this is the only one I've got shots of at the moment.  http://www.buildyourownclone.com/board/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=33177
It looks pretty trivial, I mean they're just pots and switches on a front face, but the clearance between them is often less than 0.050", so having the ability to move them before I drill helped get it right the first time. 
Logged

-Mike
a soBer Newt
Posts: 204


WWW
Re: 3D models of your builds - SolidWorks
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2012, 11:57:33 AM »



Trying to relearn how to use AutoCAD
Logged

gtudoran
Posts: 361


WWW
Re: 3D models of your builds - SolidWorks
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2012, 08:34:48 AM »

My latest work in SW - tube protections

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/15275178/Solidworks/Sw_Projects/Switcher/TubeProtectionsAsm.PDF

Best regards,
Gabriel Tudoran
Analog Sound
Logged

Analog Sound Website: http://www.analog-sound.com
diemilchmann
Posts: 134


Yo Ohmy G!


WWW
Re: 3D models of your builds - SolidWorks
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2012, 11:19:00 AM »

We should start a custom library for all these parts! I know i have some pretty detailed jacks models and whatnot somewhere...
Logged

Perrow
Posts: 1780


Pelle T


WWW
Re: 3D models of your builds - SolidWorks
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2012, 02:09:34 AM »

I used Sketchup when I planned my 1590A Superfly build.



There's Hammond enclosures in the online library, as well as switchcraft jacks (made by someone on this forum, the jack model that is).
Logged

My stompbox wiki -> http://rumbust.net

Keep this site live and ad free, donate a dollar or twenty (and add this link to your sig)
Nikolay
Posts: 349



WWW
Re: 3D models of your builds - SolidWorks
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2012, 12:28:33 PM »

All of my stuff are made with 3d.

Here is one shot:


and 3 videos:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Ak9VKRTnTM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LxHm9M7Ytks
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MS-JtSAMkts


Niki
Logged

http://n-audio.net/
http://www.facebook.com/naudiocustom
Handbuilt boutique stompboxes and custom switching systems
Galego
Posts: 513


Joo Galego


Re: 3D models of your builds - SolidWorks
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2012, 01:16:06 PM »



Logged
Steve Mavronis
Posts: 1340


Neo-Classic FX (non-commercial)


WWW
Re: 3D models of your builds - SolidWorks
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2012, 03:15:49 PM »

I did mine in 2D using GIMP layers. I should have tried 3D in Blender for these cool angles and cutaways!
Logged

Guitar > Boss NS2 Noise Suppressor > NS2 Send > MXR Custom Comp > Neo-Classic 741 Overdrive > NS2 Return/Output > VHT Special 6 Ultra Combo Amp Input > Amp Send > MXR Carbon Copy Analog Delay > Boss RC3 Loop Station > Amp Return
proaudioguy
Posts: 9


Re: 3D models of your builds - SolidWorks
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2012, 07:30:24 AM »

You DI really great work.  As an audio engineer in live sound I can tell you if I see an xlr direct output that does. It have a ground lift switch for pin 1 I do NOT use it. Manufacturers of music equipment seem to have no idea of how ground loops work. Google "the pin 1 problem" and also check out the synaudcon and papers by Bill Whitlock and Don Pearson in regards to grounding and the pin 1 problem. Basically electrical and audio grounds should be isolated from one another. Good luck.  Maybe you will be the first to put a pin 1 lift switch at the output of your amp!
Logged
artifus
Posts: 1742


dare to be nave


Re: 3D models of your builds - SolidWorks
« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2012, 07:09:13 PM »

http://hackaday.com/2012/04/17/view-gerber-files-in-3d-in-your-browser/
Logged

easilyamused
Posts: 9


Re: 3D models of your builds - SolidWorks
« Reply #11 on: February 05, 2014, 12:26:27 AM »

Here's my generic stompbox - I did it for some testing of Creo Parametric, but the files are available in STEP format

https://grabcad.com/library/guitar-stompbox
Logged
gtudoran
Posts: 361


WWW
Re: 3D models of your builds - SolidWorks
« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2014, 08:02:40 AM »

A new 2 channel guitar preamp in SW:





Best regards,
Gabriel Tudoran
Analog Sound
Logged

Analog Sound Website: http://www.analog-sound.com
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to: