Headphone Amp

Started by Poste, February 09, 2011, 01:39:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Poste

Hi guys,
I was hoping somebody could point me in the right direction.

I want to build a headphone amp to place at the end of my effects so I can plug earphones into it and practice, no speaker and I will be using "usual" earphones.

I was looking at the Ruby amp or the CKKIII amp (http://www.amb.org/audio/ck2/)

But where I am getting confused is when there is Double Rubys and which one will be the best option???
And in the future could I in the future use either to power a speaker?

Thanks in advance for info.

niconoe

Hi Poste,

I'm a beginner but I'd like to join your "quest"... I'd really like to have something like you describe to test my effects builds in my flat that:

- Sounds and reacts as much as possible as a "real good guitar amp (say a classic fender)" from a saturation, impedance, ... point of view, so we can test stompboxes in an environment similar to a real large amp.
- Takes small space.
- Use low voltages so I'm not afraid of build it (newbie here!).
- Drives standard earphones.

I hadn't had an extensive look, but what I saw for the moment was:
- either a "hi-fi" headphone amp, not really guitar oriented.
- small amps like the Ruby, which are not really designed for headphones... I suppose it's not too difficult to adapt them, though.

Another question that comes to me is (as my dream is to have something that sounds like a real good old vintage amp) the role of the speaker in these vintage amps. Can we approach that kind of tone without having a real speaker or a simulation system ?

Are these detailed motivations similar to yours ? Does someone have links to interested projects... We're probably not the first to have this idea here :)

merlinb

Quote from: niconoe on February 09, 2011, 06:13:35 AM