Troubleshooting Fur Face Clone

Started by kiltedyak, March 03, 2011, 07:44:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kiltedyak

Hi Guys,

I am a complete newbie building a a Fur Face from Small Bear Electronics. Here is a link to his awesomely detailed how to http://www.smallbearelec.com/Projects/FurFace/BeginnerInst.pdf.

My issue is that whenever I engage the circuit, the guitar tone becomes attenuated instead of amplifed and fuzzy. I can hear the guitar and the tone and level pots appear to be working, but there is absolutely no change in the sound when I turn the fuzz pot. I have checked the voltages at the transistors and they seem pretty close to dead on to what the instruction say to expect.

pics
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/1UNMLo_l9_IDaVrCHPSBQQ?feat=directlink
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/hh4v5uxYwwLvo8kWG3JjGw?feat=directlink

Thoughts?

R.G.

Debugging: what to do when it doesn't work
R.G.

In response to the questions in the forum - PCB Layout for Musical Effects is available from The Book Patch. Search "PCB Layout" and it ought to appear.

kiltedyak

OK Fair enough

1.What does it do, not do, and sound like? Bypass works fine. When circuit engaged the volume of the signal is lessened and there is zero fuzz or distortion sound. Working the fuzz pot stop to stop results in no change in sound. Working the tone pot stop to stop results in expected frequency profile change. Working the volume 100% will drive signal to zero, but even at the loudest, the signal is less than when bypassed.
2.Name of the circuit = FUR FACE (Small Bear)
3.Source of the circuit (URL of schematic or project) = (See link to PDF, schematic 3rd page from bottom, Trans voltages 5 or 6 pages up from bottom)
4.Any modifications to the circuit? N
5.Any parts substitutions? N
6.Positive ground to negative ground conversion? N