DEBUG: Tonepad Stock Big Muff

Started by Christoph.H, March 06, 2011, 04:29:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Christoph.H

Decided to try to build a big muff with stock specs from tonepad.com

Schematic: http://www.tonepad.com/getFile.asp?id=95 (stock)

Layout: http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/3895/kopplingsschemadelar.jpg

Since I am pretty new to electronics, I can't manage to see what's wrong myself, hope you guys can help...

When I just connect the battery, and stick the negative lead to ground, I get 0V readings everywhere. And when I measure between positive battery clip and ground I get 0V, but between negative battery clip and ground I get -9.36V.
When I however connect amp and instrument cables I get the following readings:

Battery (between positive clip and ground): 9.36V

Q1
B: 0.633 V
E: 35.3 mV
C: 3.98 V

Q2
B: 0.633 V
E: 34.6 mV
C: 4.03 V

Q3
B: 0.630 V
E: 33.9 mV
C: 3.96 V

Q4
B: 1.758 V
E: 1.16 V
C: 3.99 V

D1
A: 0.512 V
K: 0.633 V

D2
A: 0.633 V
K: 0.512 V

D3
A: 0.502 V
K: 0.631 V

D4
A: 0.631 V
K: 0.502 V

The pedal is totally dead, not a sound, when turned on. When I bypass the circuit the signal goes through fine though, and I've checked all the wiring a dozen times, it's in its order.
I didn't substitute any parts, all is as it's suggested in the tonepad schematic. I did however, when I first tested it, reverse the amp/instrument cables. I plugged the guitar to the output and amp to input.
I built the board by using photoresist copper clad, and it came out pretty much flawlessly.

Govmnt_Lacky

Pictures of your build would help greatly.

Double check your off board wiring (Input/Output Jacks, 3PDT, Wiring to pots, wiring to board)

At first glance, the only things that look "off" are your Emitter volatges on Q1, Q2, and Q3 however, I am NOT an expert on Big Muff circuits.

My bet is that you have an error in your off board wiring.  ;)

Good Luck  ;D