Sparkle Boost has negative gain???

Started by whannah1, March 29, 2011, 10:57:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

whannah1

Hey Y'all,

I accidentally posted this in the beginner section so I'm re-posting it here.

I'm a beginner with these pedal circuits. I built the sparkle boost circuit and then instead of putting it into a pedal housing I built it into the faceplate of my rhodes piano. I wired it in with a bypass switch after the "tone" pot and before the volume. At one point during the process, the thing worked great! but since then I wired in an LED and the bypass switch and moved things around to make it look nicer and now I have a problem that I have no clue how to troubleshoot.

The issue is that when the gain is all the way up, there's no increase in volume. Turning the gain down lowers the volume, but when I flip switch to bypass the circuit the signal is much louder. How did this happen? What can happen to make a simple boost pedal go from working perfectly to doing the opposite of what it should do?

Could this be a bad transistor? I'm using an MPF102. I've messed with the bias for the transistor, which doesn't seem to fix it. I've also just tried wiggling the wires and components to see if anything is loose. The pedal seems to work fine except for this huge drop in volume. I've also gone through with a continuity tester and all the connections seem to be right. I haven't checked the voltages at the different leads of the transistor (not sure what they should be).

I should also mention that I omitted the volume knob in the schematic, (the circuit only has the gain knob) so leaving the volume turned down can't be the problem.

I didn't change anything on the circuit itself since the previous tests when it was working (that I know of). Any suggestions on things to try would really help.

Steben

Check for loss connections or wrong impednace values. Mistake in the range 10 fold is easy to make.