Uses for these tubes??

Started by Govmnt_Lacky, April 05, 2011, 03:32:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Govmnt_Lacky

I put out a few feelers to some of the "tube savvy" forumites and have not received any responses so, I will put out an ALL CALL.

I have the following tubes that look interesting and may be well-served for a stompbox or amp circuit. I am not experienced enough in tube territory so I figured I would ask for info  ;)

I have the following:

6LE8
6GH8A
3HA5

Any ideas on these would be great  :icon_biggrin:

Thanks in advance!
A Veteran is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The United States of America
for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'

merlinb

6LE8 is a funny pentode with two anodes and screen grids. They could be hooked in parallel to make a single 4W pentode for a small SE power amp.

6GH8A is just a triode-pentode and could serve as the 1st and 2nd stages of a preamp, e.g., original Vox AC30 style. Alternatively, wire the pentode as a triode and make a Valvecaster? Or even leave it as a pentode and make a Valvecaster mutant...

3HA5 is a triode. Does what it says on the tin really!

tubelectron

Hi Govmnt_Lacky,

The 6GH8A is used as a gain stage (pentode) + phase splitter (triode) in the Scott 222C Hi-Fi amp from early 60's, like the one I own. These are the 2 tubes around the center filter cap :

the 6GH8A is similar to 6AN8, 7199 (as used by Dynaco for the same role, in the same era)

A+!
I apologize for my approximative english writing and understanding !
http://guilhemamplification.jimdofree.com/

Govmnt_Lacky

Thanks Bruno and Merlin  ;D

I am really noobish when it comes to tube design and building. I guess it will just take some breadboarding and time.

Now... I just need to know where to start!  :icon_redface:
A Veteran is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The United States of America

bluesman1218