Debugging fuzz pedal

Started by andershp, July 22, 2011, 06:15:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

andershp

Hello

I've built a "clone" of a VOX Tonebender using this circuit drawing:

and this true-bypass setup/how to:

I've built it on veroboard and it's my first build using that.

The bypass and the LED works fine, but there is no sound at all when the pedal is activated - how do I debug this?

I suppose the problem is on the circuit board, but how do one find the specific place or component?

Thanks

Greenhill

EATyourGuitar

you can also check all your solder connections for continuity at the leg of each component. it could be a mistake on the vero layout or transistors are backwards. could be a lot of things but you get closer by process of elimination. posting the voltage for everything on here lets us help you.
WWW.EATYOURGUITAR.COM <---- MY DIY STUFF

stringsthings

Quote from: andershp on July 22, 2011, 06:15:49 PM
Hello ....

... how do I debug this? ...

.... how do one find the specific place or component?

Thanks

hello ! .... debugging a build is a process that all DIY'ers must eventually come to grips with ... i would first recommend that you purchase a DMM ( digital multi-meter ) ... this tool will soon become your best friend when it comes to debugging circuits ...

LucifersTrip

always think outside the box

andershp

Quotehello ! .... debugging a build is a process that all DIY'ers must eventually come to grips with ... i would first recommend that you purchase a DMM ( digital multi-meter ) ... this tool will soon become your best friend when it comes to debugging circuits ...

Yes, that is why I ask here - to learn how to debug these things and I do have a DMM.

QuoteVoltages on Q1 and Q2 Smiley ?

Q1
C = 0.14 V
B = 0.10 V
E = 0.00 V

Q2
C = 7.38 V
B = 0.14 V
E = 0.10 V

I haven't done this kind of debugging before so sorry if things are obvious, however I think that these values seems a little weird...