Fender Fuzzwah - Fuzz Only Schematic

Started by cps, August 07, 2011, 10:41:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cps

Hi,

One of my favourite pedals is the 70s Fender FuzzWah with the three control pots (see here http://www.effectsdatabase.com/model/fender/fuzzwah/2).

I've actually got one of these pedals - I really like the distortion however the pedal weighs a ton and the wah is really scratchy.

I was wondering how difficult it would be to separate the fuzz circuit from the wah circuit - by this I mean, creating a schematic of just the fuzz part of the pedal so that I could build a fuzz-only version. Would this be easy/difficult/impossible?

Here's the schematic I'm interested in:

http://www.labyrinth.net.au/~cpsmusic/fender_fuzz-wah-pedal.png

I have some knowledge of electronics but I'm no guru!

Cheers,

Chris

petemoore

The Fuzz portion is outlined by all the connections which somehow connect-through-parts to the Fuzz switch input and output lugs.
   The non-Fuzz [wah] portion includes all the interconnects between the wah input and output lugs of the wah switch.
   Signal into a correctly wired fuzz-portion + the ground and power supply requirements should allow a working Fuzz-Only circuit.
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

cps

cps

I've had a go at trying to trace out the fuzz component of the circuit however the op amp section seems to be part of both the fuzz and the wah circuits. I'm not clear how to separate the two - some help with this would be very much appreciated.

Cheers,

Chris

cps

I've been doing some research on the Fender FuzzWah schematic and looks (to my beginner's eye) a lot like a Rat - is that right?

Gus

Simmed using stock LT spice download.  Q1 is a phase inverter

Use a TL071 etc.  Interesting fuzz with the mix control

cps

Many thanks for the schematic. I'm going to have a go at building one of these in the next few weeks.

Cheers,

Chris

cps