so....i got an oscilloscope ....

Started by pinkjimiphoton, September 05, 2011, 10:32:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pinkjimiphoton

it's an older model, a tektronix 310 a from the late 50's...i found the manual for it online, which surprised me!!

it's clean, and seems to work...i've messed around sticking a piece of wire in the input jack and looking at things...

but am a total newbe and have no idea how the hell to hook it up.

i need a probe, right? is that something i should buy, or should i build one?

i looked around trying to find a cheap one, all electronice has one for 19 bucks to 500mhz, or 29 bucks for 1000 mhz...

but i really don't know what i need. can someone please advise me as to what may be a good probe, and how to proceed? i don't have a lot of cash to work with
that's for sure.

also, can anyone point me at some good resources for a newbe to learn about how to use these things?

probably asking for an awful lot, but i really appreciate the help and advice folks, thanks so much!! ;)
  • SUPPORTER
"When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will know peace."
Slava Ukraini!
"try whacking the bejesus outta it and see if it works again"....
~Jack Darr

earthtonesaudio

This is a DIY forum, right? :)

Step 1: find/buy a BNC-BNC cable (assuming your scope has BNC inputs)

Step 2: cut the cable in half

Step 3: strip the outer insulation, peel back and solder the ground braid to a short length of wire terminated with an alligator clip

Step 4: strip the inner insulation to expose the center conductor.  If it's a solid wire, congrats!  That is your probe tip and you're done.  If it's stranded wire, attach a bit of solid wire and that's your probe tip.  Done.

Step 5 (optional): repeat for the other half of the cable.  Now you have two probes!

Step 6 (super optional): solder a 10M resistor in series with the probe tip to make a 10x probe.

earthtonesaudio