first time builder, difficult first pedal

Started by gross_motor, March 10, 2023, 06:56:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gross_motor

Hey everybody. First post! Name is Lucas A.

I've never built a pedal before, but I do have a nice soldering setup and have replaced electronics in several guitars, and I did build a small synth project once. I'm confident I could do it with instructions etc. I know what the different components of pedal building are, but that's about the extent of my knowledge. I joined this forum because I have a pedal I want to recreate, the problem is the circuit uses all surface mount components and it seems to be pretty complex. The pedal is a Behringer OD300. It is apparently based on a Boss OS-2, but I purchased an OS-2 and it does not have the same sound. I have played a lot of overdrive pedals and the OD300 has been my favorite for years, so it would be nice to have a high quality one in a solid enclosure.

I took some pics of the board:

I also uploaded the pics to the community schematics thing that may be higher res: https://www.diyschematics.com/schematics/index.php?/category/community

The stock pedal has a pot on top that goes from overdrive to distortion. Pete's pedals in St. Louis swapped that out for a switch for me. I was going to have him try to put it into a boss enclosure but it didn't work out.

I always keep the pedal totally on overdrive. From what I understand there are 2 circuits for OD/dist and the pot blends them. I wouldn't mind having the option to switch to the dist circuit, but I'd be happy if I could just build a pedal with the OD circuit also.