Project idea: midi controller and remote analog looper

Started by tysonlt, October 29, 2011, 10:25:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tysonlt

Hello DIY Legends!

I am a software developer with some experience in electronics.

I want to build a  box with about 6 patches and a bank up/down, that controls midi devices and analog loops, with the actual relays for looping in a separate box.

I want any given patch to:

a) send a midi message
b) turn on ANY NUMBER of the loops
c) switch amp channel

This looks close to what I want to to:

http://www.jimkim.de/download/Schematic_Looper_NF_2006_08.pdf

After close to 100 hours of research and learning (from excellent lists like this - thanks), I am very excited to say that I actually understand most of this schematic!!!

Please bear with a couple of questions:

1) the 74HC573 is an "Octal D-type transparent latch; 3-state" according to the datasheet. Does this mean that giving it a momentary pulse on an input pin will trigger a steady signal on the output pin? I understand this for the LEDS (U3), but I thought that the transistor driving the relays would only need a pulse on the base to switch the relay? Unless they are non-latching relays... would they require a steady current to stay switched?

Based on my current understanding, I was going to use a ULN2803A to drive the relays. Is that similar to what these 74s are doing? (at least U2).

2) What is that capacitor network (C3-C6) for? Where does it get connected?

3) Some of the ICs have a label on the pins, such as IC1, IC2 on pins 17-18 on U1. What are these?

4) I was originally interested in using CMOS to switch the effects loops. However, after reading a lot of posts by R.G. about the pain that CMOS can cause, I'm not so sure! Would 'those in the know' recommend sticking with relays?

Thanks everyone!!!

:)

tysonlt

Oh, and I forgot... I want the relays to be remote from the footswitch :)