how to trigger tap tempo with a clock?

Started by dblondin, November 26, 2011, 12:29:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dblondin

Hi, first post :) I'm new to building/modifying pedals and I've found this site immensely useful for my first projects. So thanks!

There's something I'm trying to do and I'm not sure where to start. I have an Empress Tremolo and I'm trying to keep it in time with another device which sends out a 9v clock signal. I'm wishing to use the clock to keep the tremolo in time (instead of using my foot). What type of switching circuit might be best to effectively toggle the tap tempo with a clock?

earthtonesaudio

It all depends on the details of the Empress and the clock signal you want to interface together.

You should determine:
-If the Empress behaves normally with a continuous stream of tap inputs (assuming your clock source is continuous)
-What the empress does to turn a button press into a tap signal internally.  Generally the switch is used to provide a logical high voltage in one position and a logical low voltage in the other position, but the only way to know what the Empress does is to trace that portion of the circuit with a voltmeter.
-What the characteristics of the 9V clock source are.  Is it a square wave?  Is it exactly 0-9V amplitude or something in between?  Is the duty cycle 50%?  That sort of info is helpful.

Once you have a good sense of the details you can begin the interfacing.  That part is actually the easier bit and there are many options.  For example, say the Empress tap switch includes a resistor connected to +9V, and pressing the switch brings the end of the resistor to ground, providing a 9->0 transition to the tap tempo circuit.  Further assume your clock source is a 0V/9V square wave.  You can connect a NPN transistor in parallel with the switch, add a resistor from base to clock source, and be done.

dblondin

Excellent, thanks so much. Here are the details about the Empress tap and the clock signal: