Schaller Bow Wow - Yoy Yoy rebuild.

Started by digi2t, November 29, 2011, 02:58:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

digi2t

Hi all,

I bought this wah about 2 years ago, but was never really impressed with it. The wah (bow-wow) setting was weak at best, and the Yoy setting was down right anemic. I was dissapointed, to say the least. So, while waiting for parts for other projects, I decided to have at this sucker. This is the original schem (corrected) that I found on the net;

For the most part, it was correct, but I made some corrections to it to reflect exactly was was in mine. Initially, I just started playing with cap values here and there, trying to up the effect. Finally, I decided to start from scratch. I started with the trannies. Being a real BC109C fan, and having a pile on hand, I swapped these in, replacing the BC109B's.

I then ditched the carbon resistors, and went for metal films. Three resistors were sub'd with trimmers. One for adjusting the voltage on Q1, another to fool around with the midrange (this is a Crybaby mod, but I found it works here), and another to be able to balance the output level. I found the last one necessary, since playing with the voltage of Q1 has a direct impact on the output volume of the pedal between "IN" and "Bypass".

The pot in this was not a reverse linear, as is stated in two different schem versions I found. Mine was just plain linear. I don't know if this was original or not, but the pot looked pretty old. I ditched it for another linear, but I still didn't like the "feel" of the sweep, so I tried a regular log pot. The log pot was much better. I sealed the deal by adding a 120K resistor across the 2 and 3 legs of the pot, which smoothened out, and shifted the taper just a bit more to my liking. In any case, pots in a wah are really a personal thing, so one persons garbage, is anothers gold. This works for me.