My first Eagle Cad Project

Started by kevilay, January 15, 2012, 09:31:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kevilay

Hey guys Im doing my first guitar pedal PCB board in eagle cad. Im new to the program and have been watching some videos. I got some boards setup but I do have a few questions. What size traces and holes should I be using for guitar pedal applications. On another note, there are so many different resistor, capacitor and diode maps. What ones should I be using for regular size components? Is it common to have two layers for guitar pedal boards? Is there a way to print the layout out in realsize so i can check to makesure everything is sized properly?

Thanks
Kevin

kevilay

forgot to mention. should I be using a ground plane as a second layer to help with noise?

ringworm

Most of those points are dependent on the size of the board and the circuit.
I have my projects set to milimetres and use anything from 0.6 - 1 for traces depending on available space. I also use the restring function to set my pads to '22'. I make all my boards as single layer projects and have never made a double layer board, better to keep it that way for simple effects if your just figuring it out. You don't always need a ground plane either but it can't hurt to figure out how to do it.
File>Export>Image will get you your pcb, which will automatically be the correct size for the parts you have selected, raise the print resolution to 300dpi or something though. Select monochrome for making your press'n'peel transfer. it will also automatically be reversed for printing. No need to flip it in a graphics program.
Check out gaussmarkov's tutorials, they are specifically for pedal building and are really good http://gaussmarkov.net/wordpress/tools/software/eagle-cad/ and download his library files as he has collected a lot of useful parts for pedal building in the one folder.

kevilay

that image didnt show up, could you relink it please?

ringworm